The Foundation Level qualification is aimed at professionals who need to demonstrate practical knowledge of the fundamental concepts of software testing. This includes people in roles such as test designers, test analysts, test engineers, test consultants, test managers, user acceptance testers and IT Professionals.

The Foundation Level qualification is also appropriate for anyone who needs a basic understanding of software testing, such as project managers, quality managers, software development managers, business analysts, IT directors and management consultants.

What are the entry criteria?

It is suggested that candidates for the Foundation Level certification have at least six months practical experience in a professional testing role.

Foundation Level professionals are able to:

  • Use a common language for efficient and effective communication with other testers and project stakeholders.
  • Understand established testing concepts, the fundamental test process, test approaches, and principles to support test objectives.
  • Design and prioritize tests by using established techniques; analyze both functional and non-functional specifications (such as performance and usability) at all test levels for systems with a low to medium level of complexity.
  • Execute tests according to agreed test plans, and analyze and report on the results of tests.
  • Write clear and understandable incident reports.
  • Effectively participate in reviews of small to medium-sized projects.
  • Be familiar with different types of testing tools and their uses; assist in the selection and implementation process.

Foundation Level Contents

  • Fundamentals of Testing
  • Why is Testing Necessary?
  • What is Testing?
  • Seven Testing Principles
  • Fundamental Test Process
  • The Psychology of Testing
  • Code of Ethics
  • Testing Throughout the Software Life Cycle
  • Software Development Models
  • Test Levels
  • Test Types
  • Maintenance Testing
  • Static Techniques
  • Static Techniques and the Test Process
  • Review Process
  • Static Analysis by Tools
  • Testing Design Techniques
  • The Test Development Process
  • Categories of Test Design Techniques
  • Specification-based Techniques (black-box)
  • Structure-based Techniques (white-box)
  • Experience-based Techniques
  • Choosing Test Techniques
  • Test Management
  • Test Organization
  • Test Planning and Estimation
  • Test Progress Monitoring and Control
  • Configuration Management
  • Risk and Testing
  • Incident Management
  • Tool Support for Testing
  • Types of Test Tools
  • Effective use of Tools:Potential Benefits and Risks
  • Introducing a Tool into an Organization

Foundation Level Exam Structure

The Foundation Level certification exam is paper – based, in the form of a multiple – choice test in English. It consists of 40 questions; each question has only one correct answer. Passing score – 65%. Duration of the exam – 60 minutes, extended by 15% for non-native speakers, i.e. 75 minutes.